A rich and protected heritage
Behind the numerous castles of the Loire Valley, heritage treasures are hidden : travel through the centuries where ancien stonework reveals the history of the Touraine. Mills, vines lodges, wash houses, typical stone houses (tuffeau) and troglodytic houses are a part of the numerous local curiosities which make the richness and the diversity of our landscapes and our rural heritage.
Belvederes and panoramic viewpoints
BourgueilPanoramic viewpoint of the “Moulin Bleu”
Coteaux-sur-Loire (Ingrandes-de-Touraine)Mount Sigou
From the orientation table you will, in just one look, discover the magnificent vineyards nestled in this magic valley. This panoramic point, fondly known to Gargantua, gives extensive views over the Loire Valley. Unusual: during your escapade to the Mount Sigou, have a picnic in a hundred-year-old barrel!
LangeaisPanoramic viewpoint of the “Paradis”
Panoramic view over Langeais
, its Xth century church
, its chateau and donjon
and its suspension bridge which crosses the famous river Loire. Photo enthusiasts will appreciate the tranquility of this place perfect for contemplation.
La Chapelle-sur-LoireThe belvedere
Located in front of the church, this belvedere offers a magnificent viewpoint over the Loire, classified as a UNESCO world heritage site for the unbroken 280 km between Sully-sur-Loire and Chalonnes-sur-Loire.
Coteaux-sur-Loire (Saint-Michel-sur-Loire)The belvedere
The observation point of Saint-Michel-sur-Loire offers a splendid panorama over the Loire Valley. Eastern access point of the Regional Nature Park Loire-Anjou-Touraine, this belvedere dominates the landscape, with its identification table created by the illustrator Denis Clavreuil.
Saint-Laurent-de-LinLa Croix du Chêne Pilé
Located on a siliceous sandstone base, this is the culmination of the town (116m), from which you can see a beautiful view on the forest and on the valley of the Savignéen
. Each year, a local association offers a demonstration of traditional threshin in a farmhouse
located in the Chêne Pilé (“Farmers’day”
The royal river : the Loire
LangeaisThe Suspension Bridge over the Loire
Witness of the beauty of the last wild river in Europe since 1846, the bridge of Langeais was many times destroyed and rebuilt. It reached its present form in 1951. Dressed in blue every night, he echoes the castle, also beautifully illuminated.
Along the LoireThe flood of 1856
The flood of 1856 (7,03m) destroyed nearly 23 km of dikes causing severe flooding on almost 100 000 hectares. Today, one can still see the marks of this flood all along the Loire but also on some houses such as in Langeais, at the corner of the Rue Anne de Bretagne and the Rue Falloux.
From prehistory to Roman times
Located in the vallon des Dames at the end of the Val joyeux Lake in Château-la-Vallière, this oblique stone measures 3,60 m..
Curious tower of about thirty meter high, perched on the hillside. Listed monument, from the Gallo-Roman era (2nd century) built with bricks, rectangular in shape. In all likelihood, it was a funerary monument associated with a large farming estate.
ContinvoirDolmen and Cromlech
This “cromlech”, a Megalithic monument unique in Touraine
, consists of a set of eight stone blocks arranged in a circle and of a dolmen. Their origin dates back to Neolithic times. Continvoir also has a dolmen or Megalithic tomb from which remains only the table. Legend attributes its destruction to St. Martin
Houses in “Tuffeau”
Nestled in the heart of the hills, just look up to see mysterious facades. Troglodytic dwellings are former hillside quarries
from which Tuffeau (limestone) was extracted to build the region’s houses, churches and the famous Loire Valley Castles
. Some have been transformed into dwellings, wine cellars, cellars for storage or mushroom cultivation.
In the heart of french villages
Using the limestone of the country, the ovens of of Saint-Symphorien in Avrillé-les-Ponceaux worked for nearly a century between 1865 and 1954 to produce lime used locally for tanning, construction and agriculture.
At the heart of the village, near the Plantagenet style church and town hall, lies the former bandstand. It is situated in the middle of a green flowery area surrounded by beautiful houses built of tufa, the local stone.
Rillé et Savigné-sur-LathanFortifications
former strongholds of Anjou in the Middle Ages, the towns of Rillé and Savigné-sur-Lathan have preserved the remains of their ancient fortifications.
This beautiful bandstand near the washhouse is in cement imitation wood. Built in 1910, the ground floor was sometimes a shed for firemen… sometimes a prison for vagabonds! The floor served as place of repetition for the municipal brass band.
VaujoursLes loges de Bruyères
Endangered since the Middle Ages, the lodges of heather serve as storage places for agricultural equipment or materials. Their frame is made of pine poles or chestnut trees directly put into the ground and covered with heather: the Erica Scoparia.